Entries Open for the 2023 New Zealand Commercial Project Awards

18 August 2022

We know that many of our residential members who work in the commercial space, and do small commercial projects and commercial fitouts, probably don’t ever think about entering the NZ Commercial Project Awards, as the perception is they are only for the big guys.  

That is not the case, these awards have something for everyone, both big and small, and we encourage you to enter so you too can celebrate your amazing commercial project and the team that brought it to life.

The size of the project, the team, and the contract value does not matter.  

The awards are based on the project team’s collaboration, innovation, quality and how you overcome the challenges of the project together. It is not about the size of the project or the size of the budget. Don't miss out on your opportunity to showcase the quality of your team’s work to the industry and to clients nationwide.

Our Value Awards to ensure that all projects, no matter what the value and size, have the chance to recognised and celebrated for their achievements in their price bracket. They allow smaller contractors to showcase their local projects to national clients who operate all around the country, as well as celebrating the very best of our larger buildings.

Contemporary Homes 2010 won a gold award and the Commercial Project under $1 Million Value Award at the 2022 New Zealand Commercial Project Awards for their Sunyata Yoga Retreat entry. As a residential building company with lots of success in House of the Year, this was the first time they had something they could enter in these awards – and they walked away with one of the top awards.

Hear from Mark Scown from Accent Construction Interiors and Tim Purdon from Projectability talking about the Massey Primary School Block One project and the benefits they and their team got from entering.  

Who Can Enter?
The awards are an all-of-industry event and are open to all New Zealand based commercial construction project partners including contractors, architects, building owners, engineers, and quantity surveyors etc.  

You do not need to be a member of Registered Master Builders to enter. 

Entrants choose which category their project will be entered into.

  • CARTERS Commercial Project
  • Civic Project
  • SpecAdvisor Education Project
  • Altus Windows Systems Health Project
  • Heritage/Restoration Project
  • Industrial Project
  • Tourism and Leisure Project
  • Resene Commercial Fit Out Project
  • Retail Project
  • Winstone Wallboards Residential Project

Value Awards*

  • Commercial Project Under $1 million
  • Commercial Project $1 – $3 million
  • Commercial Project $3 – $10 million
  • Commercial Project $10 – $25 million
  • Commercial Project Over $25 million

Other Awards

  • Special Award
  • Innovation Award
  • Sustainable and Environmental Award
  • Building Information Modelling (BIM) Award
  • Registered Master Builders Supreme Award

*All entries are automatically considered for the appropriate Value Award.

What's New for 2023?
    We are excited to announce a new permanent fixture in our Awards Categories, the BIM Award (Building Information Modelling). 
Awarded at the judges’ discretion for use of technology that aims to shape the industry towards a more efficient and sustainable era, that improves the construction life cycle and identifies potential issues before they become real ones. All entries will be automatically entered into this award.    

Professional Photography for ALL entries.
All entries will now be photographed by  our professional photographers. This will ensure consistency in the quality of photos across the competition. Please note the entry fee has not changed, however the photography fee is now a mandatory cost.

If you are proud of what your team has accomplished, then these are the awards for you.

You can find out more information on the website or download the Entry Guide.

We would love to see an entry from you and to celebrate the innovation, collaboration, and commitment of your team at the awards gala in May next year.